How to make a “cufflet”

Standard
01b0974872979eacb211e6f2c3f3bd26d9cd0080e5

Lace Cufflet – This is a combination cuff and bracelet. Ok, so I looked it up on Google and couldn’t find the word so I made it!

0179dd75c62e3d02e09c103cc64c0423ec792cb2c7

Here are some of the fabrics and accessories I used to make the cufflet.  I am not very good at sewing, rather I tend to glue or pin.  Today I decided to give this a whirl and with sewing machine to hand away I went.  It turned out to be easier than I had at first anticipated.

01102c76ff2b8fa0ee6578b0f1825bfc4a2768c11a.jpg

The first thing you will need to do is measure your wrist, or the wrist of the person you are making it for.  Cut the length of the lace and fabric about an inch longer than needed.  Begin by sewing the lace along the right side of the fabric.  The fabric is about an inch and a half wide.  This allows a quarter inch hem on each side.

017bb307b012b5b64b8bd17ab660ea0b76a0fd2b52

Both sides of the lace have now been sewn to the fabric, then ironed. Another identical piece was then cut and hemmed, and attached to the back with Stitch Witchery tape which causes a bond with both sides of the fabric when pressed with a hot iron.

012aeb718c990353ca1c7bdeda7221086c88ee05a5

Next I threaded the stretchy fabric (the naughty strip) through the back of the metal piece and attached the stretchy fabric by stitching by hand at each end.  This made it easy to pull around the wrist and tie in a knot.

01ca7eaf86cc07da8f6a7c077ef9939e0f42be832b

Here is the underside of the cufflet.  The “naughty” strip is stretchy so it can be loose or tight to preference.  It also makes it easy to remove and wash if necessary.

0149a6f4ff9715b4e77db45e9e27752262f69a7b3a

Here it is on my wrist. It’s a fun item. If I can make it anyone can. You just have to give it a try. You can use any combination of materials, both soft and hard, just use your imagination. I also rely a lot on “Pinterest” and Mr. Google for ideas. I hope you will give this a try!

2 responses »

  1. My mother used to sew. She had a singer sewing machine with a treadle on it. I was just never meant to do certain things e.g. sewing. I learnt how to knit and knitted every relative I know a sweater. Then my passion for knitting died and I started cooking and here I am still cooking. That looks really nice. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Thank you Liz. I’ve been working on different projects – little fairy candle houses as my sis and I are going in a craft sale early December. They take awhile to make as they are covered in clay, then painted and decorated. I just use flameless candles so no worries about burning a child. Sadly, I didn’t learn to sew as a kid, so I really hate doing anything too much with it but straight seams and hems I can do! I’m more like you, cooking I learned, and I love to eat. We are in sunshine but frosty roofs here again today. Loving the sunshine. Enjoy your day Liz!

    Like

Leave a Reply

