Gnomes need homes too…..

Standard
Gardening gnome ready to water his garden outdoors...

Gardening gnome ready to water his garden outdoors….

IMG_1780

Front view of woodsy little Gnome home made with Dollar store house and bits of driftwood and woodsy branches and lichen .

Dollar store premade little house with a door works perfectly for this particular project.

Dollar store premade little house with a door works perfectly for this particular project.

Next, I begin by gathering some of the pieces I will need for the project.  Bits of driftwood, dried branches, glue, paint, and small stones.

Next, I begin by gathering some of the pieces I will need for the project. Bits of driftwood, dried branches, glue, paint, and small stones.

I used an undercoat of red and then applied crackle and an overcoat of purple.  However, I then decided I wanted to cover it and make it more rustic so this was my next step.

I used an undercoat of red and then applied crackle and an overcoat of purple. However, I then decided I wanted to cover it and make it more rustic so this was my next step.

Here is a side view with bits of dried bark applied to the sides and back and small pieces of driftwood glued to the roof and front.

Here is a side view with bits of dried bark applied to the sides and back and small pieces of driftwood glued to the roof and front, I had found an old piece of corkboard and it was the perfect size on which to set and glue the project.

Living by the ocean definitely has it's benefits when it comes to finding driftwood, this is one of the beaches I frequent with lots of logs and driftwood washed up on shore.

Living by the ocean definitely has it’s benefits when it comes to finding driftwood, this is one of the beaches I frequent with lots of logs and driftwood washed up on shore.

Putting this project together can require a few days, glue has to dry and I make use of whatever is handy to hold things in place, in this case clothes pegs work well.

Putting this project together can require a few days, glue has to dry and I make use of whatever is handy to hold things in place, in this case clothes pegs work well.

Last but not least, is gluing small flat rocks to the base and attaching a door handle.  I used a small piece of oyster shell for the door handle.  Once that was done, it's easy to dress up your project with bits of greenery, artificial flowers (keeping in mind size - not too large to seem out of place) and any other accoutrements you want.  I added a small metallic butterfly dangling by a piece of small chain.

Last but not least, is gluing small flat rocks to the base and attaching a door handle. I used a small piece of oyster shell for the door handle. Once that was done, it’s easy to dress up your project with bits of greenery, artificial flowers (keeping in mind size – not too large to seem out of place) and any other accoutrements you want. I added a small metallic butterfly dangling by a piece of small chain, just to give it movement.

Side view of the finished project.  I used a LePages all purpose glue which is good indoors or out.  If you are planning to put your Gnome Home or perhaps you'd rather have a Fairy House, do make sure to use a glue which is weatherproof.

Side view of the finished project. I used a LePages all purpose glue which is good indoors or out. If you are planning to put your Gnome Home or perhaps you’d rather have a Fairy House, do make sure to use a glue which is weatherproof.

Here's a closeup of the little garden Gnome I glued inside so that when you open the door, surprise!

Here’s a closeup of the little garden Gnome I glued inside so that when you open the door, surprise!

Anyone can make this type of project.  All you need is some basic items….glue, paint, paint brush, your imagination, use what is available in your habitat, and don’t be afraid to give it a try!

My sis makes fairy doors and fairy houses, here are a few original ideas she has done and sold.

My sis makes fairy doors and fairy houses, here are a few original ideas she has done and sold.

This is a little Hobbit Door, isn't it cute?

This is a little Hobbit Door, isn’t it cute?

Another of my sisters Fairy homes.

Another of my sisters Fairy homes.

3 responses »

  1. Wow you and your sis are very talented. All those little houses look really cozy and nice. One of these fine days, I must challenge myself to make something. It will probably take me months to finish but I really want to give it a go. Thanks so much for sharing all these ideas. Have a wonderful week!

    Like

    • We attended the craft sale yesterday and I’m pleased to say we did very well. Only brought back a few pieces and it was fun. Crafts are fun but only if you enjoy them and don’t feel you have to do them, right? I bought myself an adult colouring book and both felt pens and pencil crayons and I love to colour – it’s very relaxing! Cheers to you Liz!

      Like

  2. Thanks Liz. I have always enjoyed creative crafting. My sis is very talented in that respect, me, I have to see something to get an idea first. Then I can customize. Fills the days when the weather is bad, otherwise I would be cooking all day and growing in girth! LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

